Lauren

This is a sweetly condensed biography of the talented Lauren Turner, a dancer and model I’ve had the pleasure of sharing the stage with. She’s happily shared her story about her experiences with bullying, how she overcame it, and where she is now; achieving her dreams.

“If you ask a group of young primary school kids what they want to be when they grow up, you will get a various range of answers;

Including doctor, footy player, policemen and a dancer… well that’s what my little cousins say anyway! I was never one of those kids who wished to be a dancer when I was older I didn’t even think it was a real job.

I went through school as such a Tomboy, always playing footy, soccer or whatever the boys were doing. Now, you can’t get me out of a sequin g string, it’s my normal weekend attire haha !

School was not exactly easy, you see a 6 foot tall lanky as hell shy red head with braces.. What an unfortunate combination!

I was so cripplingly shy growing up, it was embarrassing. Which is why I was such an easy target to pick on. So much name calling and horrible things that happened to me during the early years of high school, that I get reminded from mum because my brain has blocked it all out. I used to cry and make myself sick every morning because I never wanted to go to school. I knew I was different and people liked to make it pretty obvious. It didn’t get much better during the later years and let’s be honest I don’t remember too much of it either. All I know is I tried really hard at school trying to keep my options open, while doing a part time dance course 3 times a week after school and working 2 jobs to save for a car. Now I look back and don’t understand how I did it, juggling so many things!

The only thing that got me through high school was knowing what I wanted to do, also having an amazing support team at dancing who were all going through similar experiences made it a lot easier.

I was always the sympathy vote at school and I got pretty used to it. I remember a teacher saying to me, in 5 years time Lauren you won’t even remember today, it will mean that little, school will be the same its just something that you have to do in life that you soon will think back and laugh at.

And it’s true, I’m sitting here writing about my life and I’m 20 years old for God’s sake, I have made enough money to have bought 2 good cars in my life and still have a lot left over, I achieved an awesome school ATAR score but decided to use it later on, and dedicate everything to dancing, I now have a job on a cruise line travelling the world and getting paid for it,  I have made already the most incredible friends through dancing and the world is there for me to explore.

Having said that dancing is not easy. I have put so much money, time and effort into my training and to be where I am now.

People always say oh your Instagram photos are just so colourful and fun, I want your life. Seriously? You haven’t seen the dark side! I choose what goes up there.. I leave out the days when you have a rehearsal for a job that’s like 8 hours long and 3 days straight, on your feet the whole time, I forget to eat and drink water during it because my brain is just so packed with information, and sometimes you only get paid like $200. When your body some days just doesn’t want to move because it’s too sore, or you have an injury and no one cares, suck it up and perform. I had 3 fractured ribs once, could hardly breath and still flew interstate to dance because it’s just not a good enough excuse. You do a job for a client and get paid 3 months later… So technically you actually made no money that week. So lucky for me I have a part time job which I’ve had for 6 years to try and keep a steady income in every week but I seriously still to this day do not understand how people survive with just dancing jobs if you don’t see the money for weeks and weeks on end.

The problem is there is too many dancers out there and not enough jobs, the amount of full time schools pumping out kids into the industry is ridiculous and sadly they wonder why they aren’t getting paid work. It is because there are already 5 other girls, who have more experience, have better technique and are blonde that have it before you and they aren’t giving it up for anyone!

You are constantly compared by hair colour, weight and height because half the time they are just going for which girls look good together, not even about how you dance…

But I’m in love. In love with the fact that I get paid to dance, do what I love and be surrounded by so many amazing people. I wouldn’t choose any other career path in this point in time and will give it my absolute all while I’m still able! A dancer’s life is short so make the most of it while you can…

Lauren Turner 4

I am now about to leave to travel the world dancing, there is a lot more nerves than excitement at the moment but how bloody amazing is my job? Not many people can say they love their job. I am so lucky.

I have given up so much already for this; birthdays, school camps, valedictory, weddings, and New Years camping festivals that everyone seems to go on, and think it’s the end of the world that I don’t.

I have lost so many friends and fun weekends partying over dancing. But I wouldn’t change it for the world.

Who knows what I’ll be doing when I get back or where I’ll be but I’m excited for the unknown and new adventure!

I have worked so hard for this to build up my name and reputation, my body, my image, because it’s a tough gig but the most important part of it is to be happy, I wouldn’t be doing it if it didn’t. I have not only been dancing for a while but also modelling which I have found a different part of me that I didn’t know was there! It has opened up so many opportunities and meeting so many important people I may as well do both!

Find something that makes you proud of who you are. It took me a long time to accept who I was and what I look like. There is no better feeling. You have to love yourself before you can love others.

I encourage everyone to find a career path or hobby that not only challenges you but excites you. Do as much as you can in your life, see as many places as you desire and enjoy every second. You’ve got one shot at this lifetime. Let it be magical.”

Lauren Turner 1Facebook: Lauren Turner
Instagram:laurenturnerr

 

Leave a comment